Home Festivals & Events Which Countries Will Enter New Year 2020 First & Last? Know the...

Which Countries Will Enter New Year 2020 First & Last? Know the Names of Nations That Will Ring in NYE Celebrations at Different Time Zones


Happy New Year (Photo Credits: Pixabay)

Happy New Year 2020, readers! But hey, wait. There’s a lot of time to begin the New Year 2020 festivities. Speaking about time, do you know which country will observe the New Year 2020 first? Or, which country in the world will be entering the New Year last? Well, ideally, everyone will be celebrating at the same time only, but given that the world is separated in 24 different zones, every country will be welcoming the New Year 2020 at a different time, due to time zones. The first countries to enter the New Year are Samoa and Christmas Island/Kiribati. When it is 3.30 pm IST (Indian Standard Time) in India, these places would have already entered 2019. Almost 9 hours before IST. Confused still? Well, we will clear it for you. We bring you a full list of counties and time as per IST when they will be entering the New Year 2020. New Year 2020 Celebration Ideas: 5 Ways to Enjoy New Year’s Eve at Home With Friends And Family. 

Usually, the grand festivities in Sydney, Australia signal the coming of the New Year. However, the reality is otherwise. It is a little known fact that two small island nations in the Pacific Ocean, i.e. Kiritimati or Christmas Island, and Kiribati, are the ones to celebrate the New Year festivities first. The second in line is New Zealand, and then comes Australia (most parts of Australia). New Year’s Eve 2019 Party Alternatives: Bored of NYE Parties? Try These 7 Fun Things to Welcome New Year 2020 and Celebrate New You!

If you are now wondering which countries celebrate the New Year in the last are Baker Island and Howland Island – these are United States’ Minor island nations. Different parts of the US are the ones who get to celebrate the New Year festival in the last, in the context of time zones.

World New Year 2020 Time Table: Check Timings of New Year Celebrations in Different Countries as per Indian Standard Time (IST) – Date: December 31 to January 1

  • 1530 hours or 3.30 PM – Samoa and Christmas Island/Kiribati
  • 1545 hours or 3.45 PM – New Zealand
  • 1830 hours, or 6.30 PM – Most of Australia
  • 2030 hours, or 8.30 PM – Japan, South Korea and North Korea
  • 2130 hours, or 9.30 PM – China, Philippines, Singapore
  • 2230 hours, or 10.30 PM – Thailand, Cambodia and large parts of Indonesia
  • 2330 hours, or 11.30 PM – Bangladesh
  • 2345 hours, or 11.45 PM – Nepal
  • 0000 hours, or midnight – India and Sri Lanka
  • 0030 hours, or 12.30 AM – Pakistan
  • 0130 hours, or 1.30 AM – Azerbaijan
  • 0200 hours, or 2.00 AM – Iran
  • 0230 hours, or 2.30 AM – Turkey, Iraq, Kenya and most of Russia
  • 0330 hours, or 3.30 AM – Greece, Romania, South Africa, Hungary and other central and eastern European cities
  • 0430 hours, or 4.30 AM – Germany, France, Italy, Algeria, Belgium, Spain
  • 0530 hours, or 5.30 AM – UK, Ireland, Ghana, Iceland, Portugal
  • 0830 hours, or 8.30 AM – Most of Brazil, Argentina
  • 0930 hours, or 9.30 AM – Most of Canada
  • 1030 hours, or 10.30 AM – Most of USA
  • 1730 hours, or 05.30 PM – Baker Island, Howland Island

New Year is celebrated across cultures and cut across religious lines. Add to it, the 24 different time zones, the celebrations differ furthermore. Also, a lot of communities celebrate the New Year based on lunar and solar positioning too. There are light works, fireworks, parades, feasts, and pleasantries exchanged on the occasion of New Year. The entire week, starting from Christmas to New Year’s Eve, and the New Year Day, the atmosphere is really electrifying. As New Year 2020 nears, we at LatestLY, wish you and your loved ones a very Happy New Year!

s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,
fbq(‘init’, ‘250744195465181’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);
(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = ‘https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v3.0&appId=224265671451116&autoLogAppEvents=1’; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here